top of page

Taking It Easy

Now that Photography Now has come to an end, I have recently been attempting to take things easy despite all the unsociable hours I am currently working (life of a bar maid!).

Trying to stay inspired with photography, I have recently purchased this gem off E-Bay for £10! Bargain!

Its a Coronet Commander Mk 1 and it is was likely made between the late 1950s or early 1960s. The Coronet Camera Company was based in Birmingham and made this 'cheap' cameras from the mid 1920s to the 1960s and they were mainly designed for the use of photo-journalists / documentarians. They are made from plastic and are very light weight, which makes it ideal for photo-jounralists. I have a tonne of 120mm black and white film sitting in a box at home and now I have this little cutie, I plan on using the film up and making use of the autumnal lighting by the coast, and I want to try out some portraits with this too (got an idea for the regulars at the pub I work at, just need to talk to big boss lady to get permission. Taking a step back to my university days (I only graduated in June, feels like a life time ago) I have just purchased a hardback spiral bound A4 sketch book, and getting myself ready to start the next project! (Everybody go "Woooooah!") Being the typical student, I got excited over a purchase of new stationary and am secretly looking forward to documenting the next project in a hard-back book as well as on here. The purpose of having this sketchbook is for my own personal uses, whilst studying for my degree we had to document and research everything as part of ticking off certain check boxes to let examiners and tutors know what we have done to fullfil the requirements of the units, however working in this similar manner will help me to go forward and be creative! I have also been in talks with my old tutor Natasha Caruana with regards to Photography Now and some other photography bits, and yesterday I was apart of Motivation Monday for current UCA Photo Students at Farnham (Click on the link to see the facebook page and keep up to date with UCA Farnham's antics!). It was lovely to see that pop up on facebook and twitter, and I wish all the best for the students and there projects - I know it can be stressful, hair-pullingly painful but it will be worth it in the end!


Archive
bottom of page