top of page

2016... New Year, New Haircut, Exhibits & Beer!

Once again, I have been rather poor at keeping my blog updated and I'm already 17days into the new year and not much photography has happened. Well, that's a little lie... Not only did I see 2016 in with a Tesco Goats Cheese & Sweet Potoatoe Pie, this happened too.

You know, the whole 'New Year, New Haircut' kind of thing and what better way than to document with a couple of self-portraits with the before and after effect. God, I felt so much better after having my hair cut that day. Anyhoo, moving onto the main reason why I'm writing this post. First off, I have been approached by a friendly chap called Graham who is curating a new project which will be web-based and a series of exhibitions around the United Kingdom. The project is based around the characteristics of Equality and Human Rights and is currently in the early stages of development. As you can imagine, I became very excited and by the looks of things, this friendly chap called Graham has also been in contact with some of my Uni-Grad friends so the opportunity to exhibit with them again is always good! I am still waiting to hear some more information regarding this exhibit, so keep your eyes peeled! Secondly, I have finally got my head back in the game with my photography (HUZZAH!). As most of you know, I currently work in a coastal pub called The Rose and Crown and the staff and some of our regulars are really supportive about my photography. After an in-depth conversation about portraits whilst pouring pints behind the bar, the lighbulb flashed above my head and my project sprung to mind. The Rose and Crown is a traditional British pub and I see a number of different characters that come and go when I'm on shift... This gave me the idea to create a series of portraits using tradtional methods of photography and to perhaps create a book or some sort of publication as a final result. Since this conversation, the ideas have been rolling in and the beginning of this project has expanded... Heres my simple project proposal... * To look into the history of the Rose and Crown and compare the pub to how it was 'back in the day' to how it is now. *Using traditional practices of photography, create history of the pub and preserve the current era of the Rose and Crown. *To perfect my portrait techniques with using monochromatic film and minimal lighting inside the building (CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!) *To create portraits of staff and regular customers in a traditional manner to coincide with this classic, long-established, British pub. * And finally, to gather all material and present in a photographic publication. I was lucky enough to sit down and discuss my project ideas with the owner Anthony Goodrich (lovely chap!) this morning. I wanted to run my ideas past him first, not only out of respect for his business but to gain his permission as I will be working my magic with my camera in his business... He loved the idea, and I can't wait to get to work and see the final result.

Archive
bottom of page